top of page
  • Writer's pictureSeul

Student Life at SNU

Oct. 28.2019 *Slightly late due to midterms.*

SNU STUDENT LIFE

CLASSES:

I currently take 3 business classes and 2 classes about Korean history and culture. All are taught in English and are intense. The students here have a different mind set from people around the world. I would like to relate it to their education system and how they were taught to learn that is very different from America. But the main difference between SNU and MANOA classes is that attendance is mandatory and Business professors will choose the most inconvenient makeup classes days and times. There are three holidays in October ( National Foundation, Hangeul, and SNU Anniversary), I was at school on all three holidays for class. Also, midterms can take 3 hours long.

EVENTS:

There are lots of events that take place on campus. For example there are lots of arts, music, and food events. There was a free Kpop Concert for 10 minutes that did take place at night. It was held by the Department of Engineering. Other events is SNUFESTIVAL which showcased different cultures foods and there was a huge stage where students played music and danced. Another is called Art&Space where students sang and danced. My favorite was the Traditional Music Ensemble because it’s not everyday where I can see these people perform.

SNUBUDDY:

Best club/organization for International Students. There are 10 groups and each group plans different events each month. September is when everyone is going to events and getting to know each other. Once October hits, there are less people at the group events, mostly because midterms are in the second to last week and exams here are hard. One of the biggest events is the SNUBUDDY OLYMPICS, where all the groups are divided into four groups and play different and try to win. Although, there are people limits to how many people can play in the events. Another is an MT (membership training) trip, where we go outside of Seoul, drink and have fun all night long, then go back home the next day in the afternoon. Another event is the SNUBUDDY Food Festival, I joined the Canadian team with my friends.

PHONE PLAN:

The cheapest phone plan that I found was on campus in the student center. The cute lady that works there speaks very little English so I advise you should go with a Korean buddy or ask someone really nicely for help. Or even challenge your language skills and do it by yourself. I pay 40,000 won every month for 15G of data and 150 mins of text and calls, also you connect to the Wifi of the carrier on the subway. They send a reminder message two days before you need to recharge or they will cut off your phone service.

BANK:

At SNU Orientation, you can sign up for a bank account without your ARC card. They are really helpful. I have an account with the bank my aunt uses and I personally like this bank better, after hearing about the benefits my friends have because my debit card can also act as a transportation card. Meaning, my other friends who signed up with the bank SNU recommended, need to top up their T-Money card consistently. Also, I get messages to my phone on when I have used my card and my have a Kakao Theme card.



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page