top of page
  • Writer's pictureSeul

LIFE UPDATE! (housing and transportation)

Sept. 24. 2019


Accommodation

I live with my aunt in Seoul to be closer with my family and to save costs. I have my own bed and share a bathroom with my cousin. I eat some meals with my family, usually breakfast on Sunday and Monday mornings.

There are three popular choices for SNU students:

1) Dorming

- My friends that do dorm said that it is not expensive ~$1000. But it depends what type of dorm you get. You might get a dorm with 5 other people and share one bathroom, get a single room with your own/shared bathroom, or just a roommate and have a bathroom together. It all depends of luck because I have friends that are in all three categories and they said that they just applied and SNU assigned them their dorms. You do not know until you move in.

2) Airbnb

- This you have more freedom of what type of housing you like. Though it is more expensive that dorming on campus. It can range from $500-$1000 per month. Be sure to check the reviews of what other people said.

3) One Room/ Goshiwon/ Goshitels

- I do not recommend this option at all. These are very small room; almost the size of a closet, maybe slightly bigger. But there is a desk and you bed is under that on the ground and you closet may fit about 5 shirts, no fridge or anything. Good news, you get your own bathroom. My friend that is living in one said that she is moving out because it is too small and cramped.


Transportations

I take the subway and a bus to get to campus. SNU station is on Line 2 and is a continuous loop, and the most busiest subway line in South Korea. To get to campus from Seoul National University Station takes about 30 minutes walking, 10-15 minutes by public bus, 5-10 minutes by SNU shuttle and taxi. The SNU shuttle is free for anyone to use, but it stops at the Student Center Park, so if your class is far from the Student Center, you will walk a lot. For example, Bus #5511 stops right in front of the Business Administration Building, so I take that bus when that is my first class of the day. Usually, I take the shuttle back to the station to get home as it is free and faster than the bus. There are a lot of taxis in front of SNU Station for those running late and it costs about 5,000 Won (~$5). The lines for the buses are super long and buses are packed every morning as there are a lot of students at SNU, so I recommend you get to the station (if living off campus) about 30-45 minutes before you class as you may not get on a bus. Rather be early than late. Also be sure to take advantage of the campus shuttle as the campus is HUGE, steep, and lots of stairs.

Preference

I prefer using the subway over the bus as it is faster to get to places because subway does not have traffic. And because we do not have anything similar to this in Hawaii. Also drivers here in South Korea are crazy, I always feel like something will happen when on a bus. If you want to test you balance, make sure to stand on the bus while getting to school.


I get on at Hongik Univ. Station and it takes about 30 mins to get to Seoul Nat'l Univ. Staion




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page