top of page
  • Writer's pictureSeul

After Midterm Vacation

Nov.13. 2019


So, I had 4 midterms in one week and I though I deserved a weekend out of South Korea. I took a trip to Hiroshima, Japan to see my dad and for my birthday!

It's nice that South Korea is located near other Asian countries, meaning flights are cheaper than flying out from Hawaii. After I took my last midterm, I got on the airport bus and straight to the airport. I like the there is an airport bus on campus, which is very convenient when you are coming back from their airport at night as well: no transfers on the subway or regular bus.


WHILE IN JAPAN:

I took a Shinkansen from Shin-Osaka to Hiroshima, it was so comfortable and in my opinion worth the prices, although I feel like they should give out student discounts!

Walked at least 20,000 steps per day.

I spent two full days in Hiroshima and visited many UNESCO sites. There is an actual building that withstood the atomic bomb in WW2.

Ate food that was too good to be true.

  • Okonomi-Mura is a building where there are stalls that sell Okonomiyaki's. A dish that is famous in Hiroshima.

  • At the Tonkatsu's in Japan are more juicy and the crust is flakier. I ate it twice on my trip.

Enjoyed the leaves changing for FALL because I cannot enjoy in Hawaii.

My favorite from the whole trip was being at the top of the Hiroshima Orizuru Tower, which gives a rooftop view of all of Hiroshima. You can see the Hiroshima Castle, mountain ranges, and the Atomic Site is right across the street. It is well architected and is great spot to relax after walking around the city all day.


P.S: Midterms killed me

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Top 10's of Seoul

Jan 04. 2020 Now that I have came back from cold winter Seoul to warm winter Hawaii, I am very happy to be back home. Though there are things that I miss and wish it was in Hawaii. I will forever cher

FINALS!

Dec. 26. 2019 Finals at Seoul National University is very different to UHM. First, the professors are the one who set the date and time of the final exam, where as UHM, the school sets the time depend

bottom of page